All states have special provisions if any physical force was used or serious physical injury resulted. But do these dangers warrant laws that put young people in prison? Research shows that teenage girls tend to have their first sexual experience with male partners who are three or more years older. The statutory rape laws vary greatly from state to state, with more than half of the states setting the legal age of consent at 16 other states range from 14 to In New Jersey, a person aged 13 or older can generally consent to have sex with anyone who is no more than 4 years older.
However, because of their age difference, the jury still found Dixon guilty of statutory rape and aggravated child molestation, and sentenced him to a mandatory 10 years in prison under Georgia law.
New Jersey Age of Consent Lawyers